/News 02.03.16


Congratulations to Dr George Miller and Doug Mitchell and the team at Kennedy Miller Mitchell Productions; Graham Burke and Greg Basser and all the team at Village Roadshow Pictures, Roadshow Films and Warner Bros. and all the creatives, cast and crew for their success during the awards season for Mad Max: Fury Road.

Nominated for 10 Oscars®,  the film scooped up six awards across the creative and technical categories. It became the most successful Australian film ever at the Academy Awards®. Among the winners, eight are Australian.

The film won across:

  • Best Costume Design went to British costume designer Jenny Beavan;
  • Best Production Design went to Australians Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson;
  • Best Make-up and Hairstyling went to Australians Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin;
  • Best Film Editing went to Margaret Sixel;
  • Best Sound Mixing went to Australian Ben Osmo, alongside Chris Jenkins and Gregg Rudloff;
  • Best Sound Editing went to Australian David White alongside Mark A. Mangini.

The film garnered 10 nominations for the Oscar Awards® including (but not limited to) Best Visual Effects for which Ausfilm member: Iloura’s VFX Supervisor, Tom Wood was nominated alongside Production VFX Supervisor Andrew Jackson and SPX Supervisors Dan Oliver and Andy Williams.

We’d especially like to congratulate the talented and creative Australian production service companies and screen agencies (all of which are Ausfilm members) who worked on this outstanding film: Big Bang Sound DesignFox Studios AustraliaFox Lighting;  IlouraPanavisionScreen AustraliaScreen NSWShow GroupTrackdown Scoring Stage.